RSS Feed

Chocolate Crinkle Crack Cookies (C³ Cookies)

Chocolate Crinkle Crack Cookies (C³ Cookies)

The first time I made these AMAZING cookies I took them to a beach BBQ. They were named the “crack cookies” because they were addictively delicious. Then the name developed from chocolate crinkles to chocolate crinkle crack cookies, then because we all have a little nerd inside fo us, it changed to C³ cookies. Every cookie was gone before I left and I practically had to fight people to take home the crumbs to put on ice cream! These melt in your mouth! I had to tweak the recipe a bit, the first batch spread out and got really thin. I used my basic knowledge accumulated through my years of baking and some research on Pinterest to make some adjustment and the second time they came out perfect! These cookies are a show stopper for any situation! They are beautiful and classic! I highly highly recommend them! They are quickly becoming one of my main go-to recipes.


Chocolate Crinkle Crack Cookies, AKA C³ CookiesC^3 cookies_Fotor

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

a pinch of salt (optional if using unsalted butter)

1 1/2 cup brown sugar

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate

4 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. I always sift my dry ingredients together. I feel like it gives my baked goods a delicate texture, plus my cocoa powder gets very lumpy due to the humidity here.

In a large bowl whisk together brown sugar, eggs and vanilla. Melt the butter and unsweetened chocolate together. I had to manufacture a double broiler with a sauce pan and a measuring cup because in my little college apartment I don’t have a microwave. When the butter-chocolate mixture is fully melted and combined add it slowly to the egg/brown sugar mixture. Add it slowly because if you add too much of a hot substance to eggs they will cook or the chocolate will seize, or all other kinds of bad things can happen.

Fold in the flour mixture until mixed thoroughly. Chill the dough until firm, 1 hour or even over night.

Mix the powder sugar and white sugar in a small bowl.

Scoop dough into balls with a spoon or a cookie dough scoop. Toss the ball in the sugar mixture and then place them on a cookie sheet about an inch and a half apart.

Bake about 12 min or until the tops have cracked and the edges have set. The cookies may look doughy in the cracks but that it ok. Let the cookies cool and enjoy!

Recipe adapted from http://www.browneyedbaker.com/chocolate-crinkle-cookies-recipe/

Leave a Reply

