RSS Feed

Easy Healthy Pancakes

Easy Healthy Pancakes

It’s here, it’s finally here! All you need in one egg and one banana! The simplest and healthiest pancakes you will ever make! The struggle between loving food and wanting to thin is a daily battle for me, as I’m sure it is for most people. Plus breakfast is my favorite meal of the day! Sadly I can’t eat pancakes every day, that would require copious hours at the gym which I don’t have time for. I fond various recipes for flourless pancakes on Pinterest and tried quite a few before I finally perfected the recipe. I eat these multiple times a week! They are filling, protein-packed, the perfect proportion and have so many variations that they never get old!


Easy Healthy Pancakesbanana pancakes

Ingredients:

1 Banana

1 Egg

Additional Ingredient Options:

Cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice/nutmeg

Vanilla

dried fruit (I prefer cherries)

chocolate chips

walnuts

pecans

peanut butter

shredded coconut

chia seeds

Fruit Topping:fruit toping

about 1 cup Frozen Fruit (I prefer strawberries, raspberries, or peaches)

1 tablespoon sugar (brown or white)

Instructions:

For the pancakes mash a banana, add the egg and mix. The mixture will be a little lumpy. Add any of the additional ingredients you want. I have played around with all these for a while and have a few favorite combinations.

  • coconut, chocolate chips, walnuts, vanilla
  • peanut butter, cinnamon, vanilla, pecans, coconut
  • cherries, chocolate chips, vanilla
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, peanutbutter, chiaseeds

Warning! The more chunky heavy ingredients you add the harder they get to flip. I have eaten many delicious bowls of pancake chunks. Pour the mixture into a hot frying pan with either oil or pam. The mixture makes about two pancakes, if the banana is very big it might make three. Cook until bubbles don’t fill in after they pop or until when the pan is moved the centers of the pancakes don’t jiggle. Flip the pancakes and continue cooking until the pancakes have a nice brown. Top with anything you’d like, butter, toasted coconut, syrup, and/or fruit topping.

For the fruit topping put frozen fruit in a small sauce pan or frying pan over low heat and cover. Add sugar when there is some liquid in the pan and stir occasionally. When the liquid in the pan begins to bubble uncover and allow it to reduce until all the fruit is soft and the sauce is thick. I usually use brown sugar with peaches and white sugar with strawberries and raspberries. I’ve only tried using peaches, raspberries, and strawberries because those are my favorites, but I’m sure you can use any type of fruit you want.

Leave a Reply

