RSS Feed

Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Everyone thinks that their mom’s chocolate chip cookies are the best. My mom’s are actually the best. If you are biassed towards your own mother that’s ok, these are awesome cookies regardless. I grew up watching my mom make these. This was one of the first recipes that she left me in charge of.  In fact, the only copy of the recipe I have is one that I hand wrote as my mom dictated it to me because she chad the recipe memorized. The one problem I have run into is that the recipe calls for Crisco. In a health-nut, foodie town like Santa Barbara it is very hard to find Crisco. I have replaced the Crisco with butter and coconut oil, both times the cookies turned out fine, not quite the same but still delicious. If you are a fan of coconut I would highly suggest using that as a healthy substitute, you can taste the faint hint of the coconut. You can also add cinnamon for an extra dimension of flavor. The other alteration you can make is butter and margarine. Butter makes the cookies thinner and spread out father, margarine makes them thicker and taller. When I make them at home I use half and half but here at school I don’t buy margarine so I just use butter.


Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:chocolate chip cookies

2/3 cup margarine

2/3 cup Crisco/coconut oil (not melted)

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 1/2 cup flour

2 cups chocolate chips

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375. Cream room temperature butter and Crisco/coconut oil. Add the sugar, brown and white, eggs, vanilla and baking soda and mix till combined and creamy. Add the flour a little at a time and then add the chocolate chips. Use a standard 1 in diameter cookie scoop or a spoon and place cookies about 2 in apart on a cookie sheet. Bake 9 min until the edges are brown.

Leave a Reply

